Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Selling my Honda City – a ruthless decision

with 21 comments

I sold my dear old Honda City 1.5 EXI today.

THE HONDA CITY 1.5 EXI – REAR VIEW

THE HONDA CITY 1.5 EXI – FRONT VIEW

It was a mixture of relief and an emotional moment for me. On the one side, I was selling my favorite attachment that I had driven the wheels off (I believe in my self oriented adage of “I don’t drive fast, I fly low!”)

On the other side, I was facing my realities.

– I had to look at its present value (it was almost 5.5 years old)

– I had closed my loans on the car in record time especially expediting the process in the last few months

– I had to look at other cars that offer better value for money in terms of new purchases (I was seriously looking at the Renault Logan – essentially in the same segment as that of my Honda City with a much lower price point for a brand new vehicle! – that is set to enter India in April 2007).

– I was using it sparingly in the last 6 months+ and it was by and large lying in my garage – unused.

We took quite a few long trips in my City and really enjoyed having the car but it was time to look ahead.

However, my belief is to get rid of non performing assets as they only depreciate in value.

The same logic applies to my DELL Notebook, my Motorola mobile or my Honda City. While the brands are great, the ‘reality facing’ part of it is critical which many people delay.

My belief is that once a decision has been made, move fast on it – if you really are a decisive manager.

Written by Naveen Athresh

March 25, 2007 at 7:45 pm

Posted in Beautiful cars

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well…..you really should have kept the Honda and picked another new car. Honda 1.5 EXI still sells at high price in the second car market – I picked up a HONDA CITY 1.5 EXI 2003 model at 4.80 Lak. It was in great condtion – Company leather seats and brand new alloys with low profile tyres. My friend had bought a Honda city 1.5 2002 model a year ago and paid 4.75 Lak. the price is where it was a year ago.. great car . great design . Too good a car to give up on. Am planning to keep this car for 3 years and then switch to an Accord – yet another super car from Honda

    Akhtar

    July 18, 2007 at 10:24 am

  2. Hi, I was planning to a buy a small size car. My boss happened to sell his Honda City 1.5 EXi November 2002 – 95,000 km. I have purchased it for Rs. 2.70 lakhs. It is a very well maintained, company owned, serviced every 5000 kms., recently painted, battery, tyres and AC changed in last 2 years, 5 servicing available of original Honda showroom. I think I have got a good deal. Your comments please.

    Vipul

    July 29, 2007 at 12:17 pm

  3. Vipul,

    I think you have got yourself a good deal there. My only concern is the mileage your boss has clocked – 95K kms sounds like a lot of running for the car.

    This has interesting ramifications:
    1. The engine – don’t worry – Honda engines never die so rest assured the car will run like a charm unless your boss has been tough on his engine – I doubt it – given the segment of owners who drive this vehicle.
    2. The tyres – as you said, this is not a concern area as the tyres seem to be new as per your feedback.
    3. The chassis – when you drive close to a lac kms, the car would’ve gone through all sorts of terrain – not to mention the low ground clearance the City is infamous for! Recently, my cousin hit his 2004 Honda City (the new spaceship model!) on a rough terrain and the transmission got disturbed as also his engine due to an oil leak. Worse still, his insurance company did not foot the bill for some strange reason – the bill had to be coughed up by this chap and it was a whopping Rs. 2 lacs (out of his own pocket).
    4. The Honda City has some electronic controls. ex: My car had some Japanese spare part which had conked off and the amber indicator always kept flashing about 2 years ago. This caused a major dent on my pocket then because the replacement cost was very high – Rs. 15K! This part is available only in Japan and therefore has to be imported!

    All in all – make sure you have run through the car by an experienced Honda showroom mechanic and pose like as though you own the car to get a good review/feedback from him. They are usually candid about their feedback.

    Lastly, make sure the AC etc. has the coolant etc. replaced as this is also quite expensive – each of my Honda services used to cost me at least Rs. 7K (every 6 months) so its quite a white elephant to maintain.
    I felt like you could’ve bargained with your boss for selling the car to you at Rs. 2.5L – given its mileage.

    Also, did you get the suspension checked? Again, that would’ve gone through a lot of wear and tear in the near 1 lac kms your boss has driven. Was this car chaffeur driven or owner driven ? That can make a big difference to the condition of the car per se.
    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    July 29, 2007 at 1:14 pm

  4. Hi Naveen, Thanks.

    That’s quite a high quality feedback with a lot of thought.

    While frankly, I haven’t checked much before buying and have only relied that its better to take “used car” from someone you know rather from a dealer. I am realising that I will be venturing into a unchartered territory (on maintaining and possible repair costs) and your feedback is making me prepared for that. But a repair cost as high as Rs. 2 lakh is worrisome. Let’s see.

    His car has been chaffeur driven and I am personally aware since last 2 years that the car has been very carefully handled. Rest, only time will tell me how next few months will go on this front. Yes, I will get it checked through an experienced honda showroom mechanic.

    Thanks again.

    regards,

    Vipul

    Vipul

    July 29, 2007 at 4:17 pm

  5. honda is a very good and smoothable car anda very luxury car which gave full interest and relax

    mohammad zuhaib ansari

    August 17, 2007 at 7:43 am

  6. When one sells a 2nd hand car, one needs to be extremely careful to sell it to known parties. I sold mine back to the Nandi Toyota showroom from who I had purchased the car in the first place.

    Despite the fact that I am no longer the owner of the car, I received a traffic violation (parking in a no parking zone) ticket today – this is actually a legal notice for Rs. 100/-

    I immediately called up my Nandi Toyota contact asking him as to how this can happen. He says that the RTO and traffic police have no coordination and therefore their records would reflect the past owner’s address etc.

    I find this to be a dangerous practice. Luckily, this was a simple parking offence, what if the party who purchased this car from me (via the Nandi Toyota chaps) had misused the vehicle?

    I also was quite insistent to only sell to the Nandi Toyota chaps even though I had higher bidders for my car was partly because they give an undertaking that on the day of the sale from me back to them, the car ceases to be mine (legally too – this means the RC book also would go to them).

    They also said they would not sell the car to anyone else till the RC book is transferred to that person’s name and moreover, they said they would copy me a copy of that RC book (which I had to remind that chap today).

    Anyway, hope things settle down.

    Naveen Athresh

    September 5, 2007 at 9:15 pm

  7. Installed the head of the cell, and the average rear head lowered to improve the review earlier…

    Mr.Foreste

    December 2, 2007 at 7:54 am

  8. Wow. thansk for sharing..

    Java Joes Car selling

    December 17, 2007 at 8:49 am

  9. i have a Honda city vtech i am selling it for 2.7 lak it has gas it has 5 new mag wheels repainted 80,000 km done new f1 steering kit spoilers,pioneer system has a race car sound has stanelly lether seets,sun roof,has milage of 14 inpetrol and 17 in gas

    if intrested call 23389962

    mahesh

    May 25, 2008 at 12:17 am

  10. mahesh please contact me @ 00919946126770 as soon as u can…………..harshan.

    harshan

    May 31, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  11. Mahesh, I am interested in buying your car, pls call me on 9980099230.
    Your number is not working !

    Dev

    June 4, 2008 at 4:14 pm

  12. hi mahesh, cant reach out to you, pl. call on 09987578499….ajay singh

    ajay singh

    June 13, 2008 at 11:01 am

  13. I got a Baleno LXi Euro III with Mag Wheels, Leather Seat & Brand New Pioneer Double Din Music System + JBL Speakers. Done 26k Kms.
    Want to sell n upgrade.
    Let me know if any1 is interested. Dont want to sell thru dealers as the car is in peak condition and i cant afford to part with 25% of car price on commissions which is a norm in bangalore

    anand

    August 6, 2008 at 8:19 pm

  14. Hi
    Anyone selling a Honda city vtech 1.5 plz let me know …. 9049733266

    Savio Schofield

    October 31, 2008 at 6:31 am

  15. honda city is a good vehicle.. no doubt..

    gopalkris

    June 23, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  16. Hi
    Anyone selling a Honda city vtech 1.5 plz let me know

    Dr.Sandip Bhagat

    July 26, 2009 at 12:31 am

  17. Hi,

    I am looking for Honda city classic model, 1.5 EXI 2003 model.
    If anyone selling the car please let me know at 9810529795.

    Sharan

    Sharan

    August 19, 2009 at 11:44 am

  18. hie, i have a honda city 1.3 in kolkata. its a 2002 model. extremely good condition since it has run only around 30,000 kms. it has chrome finish on its dashboard and door handles on the inside, original from honda. panasonic system (i paid around 45k for the new system 3 years ago.) it still has original body paint (heather mist colour–something like mix of gold and silver), no accidents etc. just minor scratches and bruises since it has run very less. if you are interested then call me up.
    9903155018.
    bye.

    Shadab Mallick

    October 18, 2009 at 5:10 am

    • Hi ,

      can i know the car price ur selling..

      yana

      December 15, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  19. at home we have a use car that is a Nissan Murano. i love it `

    Metal Cabinets :

    October 31, 2010 at 6:23 am

  20. I am looking for Honda city Exi or Vtech Old model.persons from chennai/bangalore can contact me.

    9900703126

    Prabhu

    December 17, 2010 at 5:04 pm


Leave a Reply

