Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

The Indian Renault Logan — first review

with 9 comments

Please see: https://ecofin.wordpress.com/2007/04/15/the-renault-logan-first-perspective-comprehensive-review/ for a complete first hand review that followed a test drive of the famous Renault Logan launched by Mahindra and Renault recently.

I did some market research for the past few days since I wanted to be a first mover in going for the Renault Logan.

Some of things I did:

– Watched the interviews with Carlos Ghosn (CEO of Renault-Nissan) – very pragmatic chap – I liked his charismatic and frank talk. He will take Renault places.

– Watched the reviews of the Logan on the Car and bike show.

– I read up all available material (European/India) on the Logan including the more sales oriented site – http://www.mahindrarenault.com

My comments:

First, let us start with the negatives unlike most reviews that highlight the positives initially.

The ground clearance – 155 mm – not acceptable for Indian conditions – the Toyota Corolla has a ground clearance of 180 mm – I like the Toyota ‘attention to detail’. Renault gets a negative here for not paying sufficient attention to detail. Yes, we agree the technology/engineering efforts are those of Renault but Mahindra should’ve shared its knowledge of Indian roads having built the Scorpio and Bolero.

The mileage – Renault claims this car will give a 10-12 km to a liter (Petrol version). I doubt if that would even translate to a running on the road under city conditions (with AC) of 9 -10 km to a liter. My Honda City on the other hand, used to effortlessly give an astounding mileage of 12.8 km to a liter under my rugged driving! My smooth driving would also give something similar (whereabouts of 14 km to a liter!) in city conditions with AC.

The price – Renault claims that the price point of the Logan is quite low vis-a-vis counterparts. I think the sum total of the Logan would also come out to be about Rs. 5.5 lacs for the base version – 1.4 (priced at Rs. 4.6 lacs) and for the 1.6 version, the price would be in the region of Rs. 6 lacs. This is not great with comparisons with competitors such as the Tata Indigo etc.

The downside to the Logan’s low pricing would mean that the Logan can be used as a fleet service (taxi operators would love this car) esp. with its 50 liter tank and the width as also the pricing.

Positives – the looks, the Renault brand name/engine, the spaciousness (this was my grouse with my Honda City that was cramped at the back), the trust of Mahindra name, the aggressive pricing.

Overall, I have a hold mindset right now and will not go for the Logan for the next 6 months till it proves itself and Mahindra does some tweaking with the ground clearance, mileage figures etc. to suit Indian conditions.

Till then, I am back to my good old Maruthi 800 AC to satisfy my driving appetite!

Written by Naveen Athresh

April 6, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Posted in Automobiles

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am in total confusion. I liked the car very much, I took test drive and found extremely smooth (better ride quality). But mileage only worries me as I not interested in Diesel.

    Please share more if any details on mileage

    raj

    August 1, 2007 at 5:32 pm

  2. I am in total confusion. I liked the car very much, I took test drive and found extremely smooth (better ride quality). But mileage only worries me as I not interested in Diesel.

    Devraj Madan

    April 15, 2008 at 6:31 pm

  3. dear air .i am the owner of logan 1.4dlx.i am satisfied with the car except the signal indicater showing in dash board.i am totaly getting confused whether i have switched on the right signal or left signal, because you have not provided the indicator in dash board right left separatly.it is blinking together so it totally confusing.why the indicator kept in dash board ,it is to find out whether we have switched on the right direction is it not,but in logan when i switch it on both side indicator sign blinking so total confusion.this is highly dangerous in high way drive.hope you will do the needful for fuature cars and sold cars also.this point will creat a bad imeage of the logan.all ready people started talking about this.this is defenatly serious problem i request you to look in to immly.
    thank you

    g.muthukrishnan

    June 16, 2008 at 12:35 pm

  4. Dear,

    The ground clearance of logan is 172 mm not 155 mm…please note..

    The petrol version is failed bcozof mileage, but the diesel mileage is extrordinary…

    I guess logan dci will be the good choice for all the middle class family ppl…

    Andy

    February 20, 2009 at 12:25 pm

  5. Now in india logan is the best budget sedan available and in my opinion the loagn is the answer for the but’s and why’s!

    jishnu

    June 4, 2009 at 9:15 pm

  6. ground clearance is 172 mm and not anything else.

    it is quite visible looking at how high is the car from ground.

    Mir...

    July 18, 2009 at 4:40 pm

  7. logan petrol version 1.4 glx with A.C. in city traffic with 5 adults and a kid provides a mileage of 11 kmpl which is very good and not at all bad.

    Mir...

    July 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

  8. I totally agree with the above written opinions about Logan.
    It is one of the best cars to buy in the present time,
    the handling, mileage, drive and the overall performance is all i wanted as a logan owner.
    Mahindra Renault have also come up with the new special edition Logan Play,
    I checked them out on http://www.facebook.com/MahindraRenaultLogan
    It seems very attractive!!!

    Sunny

    October 9, 2009 at 3:49 pm

  9. Check Clublogan.com for more reviews from owners of the Logan world over!

    Saumil

    January 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm


Leave a Reply

