Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

DELL Vostro desktop — review

with 10 comments

As of 10th July 2007, DELL Computer Corp. (NASD: DELL) launched its desktop series targeted at the SMB segment with its new Vostro line (Vostro is Latin for ‘yours’ – so you can’t say I am speaking Greek and Latin!)

Here’s how my newly acquired DELL Vostro looks like.

Photo courtesy: CNET.com – http://www.cnet.com.au/desktops/pcs/0,239029439,339279840-4s,00.htm

DELL Vostro Desktop

Watch this space for more as I do a complete review. The specifications are as given further down in the post.

Order Details:
 
The configuration shown below is based on the previous day’s data, any changes made today will be shown the next day.Item Description Quantity
001 Dell Vostro 200 Mini Tower Desktop 1
1 Basic System Install (Qty 1 System) 1
2 McAfee(R) Security Center(TM) 8.0 – 15 Months OEM (English) 1
3 Integrated Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 1
4 Genuine Windows Vista(TM) Ultimate 1
5 Dell(TM) PC-Restore 1
6 Vista(TM) Welcome 1
7 The ultimate operating system choice. Features new 3D Aero graphics interface. 1
8 Includes all of the features of Windows Vista Home Premium and Vista Business. 1
9 Incorporates Windows BitLocker Drive Encryption. 2GB+ RAM Recommended. 1
10 Genuine Windows Vista(TM) Premium label 1
11 2 Years CompleteCover 1
12 # Year 1 Standard NBD Labour 1
13 # Year 1 Standard POW 1
14 # Includes Year 2 Next Business Day (8×5) Onsite Response 1
15 # Includes Year 2 Parts Exchange Service 1
16 30 Days Online Training – Effective From The Invoice Date 1
17 2 Years Telephone Technical Support (9am To 6pm, Monday To Friday) 1
18 Varied From DELL’s Terms And Conditions 1
19 Enroll online training at www.LearnDell.com/apac with Dell Customer #, Order # 1
20 For more details, see www.dell.co.in /completecover 1
21 CompleteCover/ CompleteCover Guard Technical Guide included 1
22 2-Year Limited Warranty (Next Business Day Service – parts & labour) 1
23 Microsoft(R) Office 2007 Basic OEM Version (English) 1
24 Word/Excel/Outlook 1
25 you do not comply with the product activation procedures.” 1
26 for copy protection. In such event, you will not be able to use the product if 1
27 “Please note that this Microsoft software product may use technological measures 1
28 Dell(TM) A525 Stereo Speakers with Subwoofer (UK) 1
29 Additional HDD – 160GB SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive with Native Command Queuing 1
30 Dell(TM) USB Quietkey(R) Keyboard(English) 1
31 1GB (2X512MB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM Memory 1
32 19” Entry Wide Screen Flat Panel LCD Monitor (Analog & DVI Only) 1
33 Monitor Handling & Insurance Charges TR (India)/19FP 1
34 Dell(TM) Optical USB Mouse 1
35 Dell(TM) Mouse Mat 1
36 Discount is only valid if the corresponding upgraded item is selected above. 1
37 Mod Specs Info (India) 1
38 Limited time promotional offer only. No further discounts apply.  1
39 Integrated 7.1 Audio 1
40 Integrated Fast Ethernet 10/100 1
41 Dell(TM) Support Center 1.0 1
42 Dell(TM) Support 1
43 Shipping Documentations 1
44 System Drive DVD kit 1
45 16X DVD+/-RW with Dual Layer Write Capabilities 1
46 Roxio Creator 9.0 1
47 Dell | Vostro Desktop(TM) Mini Tower Handling & Insurance Charges (India) 1
48 Delivery Charges (India) 1
49 250GB SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive with Native Command Queuing 1
50 Intel(R) Pentium(TM) Dual-Core Processor E2160 1
51 (1.8GHz, 1MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB) 1 

DELL also gives the below in fine print

Alert

All orders are subject to duty and custom clearance once shipped from the Malaysia factory, and may take up to two weeks.
Kindly note that the Estimated Delivery Date of your order is subject to change, if there are circumstances occurring beyond our reasonable control.
The website will be updated in a timely manner to inform you of changes to your delivery date.

 

Update #1

DELL customer care had called me from DELL Malaysia to inquire if I am satisified with my experience with the desktop and service provided. They also sent me a questionnaire. This is good.

Written by Naveen Athresh

August 2, 2007 at 9:37 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Update #1
    I would like to add that the 1 GB RAM is not really sufficient. Vista Ultimate sucks up almost 80% of the memory during regular usage and its not a great idea to operate with just 1 GB RAM.

    I am going in for another 1 GB RAM to give adequate room to run other applications.

    DELL did recommend 2 GB RAM for a good Aero experience but when I consulted the DELL technicians, they did say 1 GB would suffice. Windows file explorer has already crashed twice with a display issue and given that I need this PC to function with good performance for myriad applications open at the same time and to enhance the processing power (isn’t that why Intel came up with its dual core technology?)

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    August 5, 2007 at 2:46 pm

  2. Update #2
    I must admit the other functions have been acceptable. The system makes very little noise, Vista look n feel is terrific though I have not utilized any Vista feature that widely differs from my old XP as yet.

    The sound box speakers (Altec-lansing) have a terrific output! Its really fun watching YouTube videos of old 1980’s classic songs on this on the 19″ widescreen DELL but the split side is that the memory again gets sucked by YouTube – they have done some changes recently and it eats up a lot more memory than before.

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    August 5, 2007 at 2:49 pm

  3. Update #3

    I ordered another 1 GB RAM to satiate the needs of my power hungry Vista Ultimate DELL Vostro! The lead time for delivery is said to be 3-4 weeks! I believe even this has to get shipped all the way from Malaysia. Duh. Could DELL start processing such orders from their Madras factory sooner, please?

    Anyone listening from DELL?

    I also need to point out one more thing. All the services rendered by DELL were perfect till it reached their logistics line at Bangalore to ship the PC from their warehouse to my house. What was seemingly an innocuous task consumed 3 full days and 20 phone calls from me to various DELL representatives. DELL has a complete disconnect between their customer service reps and their logisitics function locally – this business is better off being handled directly by DELL rather than subcontracting it to some 3rd party agencies as they ain’t great in service quality. I got calls from DELL saying my PC had arrived from Malaysia and it would reach my door step the next day and I waited the next day, the day after that and I was still waiting the 3rd day when I lost it with them and gave them a piece of my mind. Then, the PC arrived – within no time!

    Why promise in the first place when you can’t deliver on time?

    Again, is anyone from DELL listening to this feedback ?

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    August 7, 2007 at 4:22 pm

  4. I got the 1 GB extra RAM delivered today after the usual coercing of the DELL customer care folks for the last couple of days. But there is some good news as well which I wish to keep confidential at this point!

    The RAM was extremely simple to install. The DELL people I spoke to told me not to waste Rs. 1500 on asking the DELL technical hardware support chaps to get this installed. It was actually true. Being an Electronics engineer, I was quite excited at taking apart this box too and its so well done that the RAM insertion of the additional 1 GB was a cakewalk.

    Now, I need to see if Vista starts behaving correctly. If it still gives that screen corruption issue, then I need to contact Microsoft support to get me a resolution as I have tried both Intel (the driver update that DELL asked me to do) and the DELL update of upgrading the system to 2 GB RAM.

    Lets see how it goes – I will report feedback in a couple of days after close scrutiny of the system. Till then – lets keep our fingers crossed!

    Naveen

    Naveen

    August 17, 2007 at 9:35 pm

  5. Ive just ordered my new dell vostro desktop & I am very exited about it. I changed my operating system to XP Pro for no extra cost, as I dont have a lot of faith in vista. It is good that you can switch to XP if your prefer.

    After completing my order on Tues, my system was dispatched on saturday and I am expecting it on tue / weds, although I am unsure where it is being shipped from.

    The price of my system was amazing, including all the usuals + a 19″ tft for £350, Bargain!

    Will

    August 27, 2007 at 6:36 pm

  6. After the installation of a patch given by Microsoft for Windows Vista Ultimate, the screen corruption issue seems to have gotten resolved!

    Naveen Athresh

    August 28, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  7. I got my Dell Vostro desktop delivered on Wednesday as they said it would.

    I am absolutely outstanded with the performance and style of the system! Words cannot describe how happy I am wth it. Spot On. Reccomended to all.

    I agree with the Disk drive catching but that is the only problem. Thank you dell!

    Will

    August 31, 2007 at 5:18 pm

  8. Congratulations Will! My DELL absolutely rocks!

    Cheers,
    Naveen

    Naveen

    August 31, 2007 at 9:48 pm

  9. RJqTna hi super site thanks http://peace.com

    bob

    March 27, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  10. Do you have to be a certain age to use this?

    tower 200

    March 6, 2010 at 2:33 am


Leave a Reply

