Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Bought a Nokia N73 Music center edition/my older Sony Ericsson W810i

with 3 comments

Nokia N73 Music center edition

Source: http://asia.cnet.com

I had to make an emergency purchase of a brand new mobile Nokia N 73 because my 6-month SONY Ericsson W810i got stolen from my car yesterday (that is a different story altogether and I lost some precious data on that). I also realized all this crap about IMEI number rendering one’s handset useless etc. is all pure BS. There is no one to assist and the maximum your service provider will do is to disable outgoing calls on the old stolen piece and supply you with a duplicate SIM card after proper due diligence. The police does not do much either – they showed me a long list of files stacked to about 3 meter height and all of them were cases reporting lost/stolen mobiles.

This new black N-73 set me back by about Rs. 17.5K and my Sony cost me Rs. 20K in all.

I had absolutely no complaints with my Sony W810i (apart from the other cool features, it also had a game called JC does Texas which I would play regularly!) and actually went to the extent of picking up the same piece from an authorized Sony showroom but then I realized that I might try Nokia from a Nokia Priority dealer – for a change. I have read terrific reviews on the Nokia N-73 as well so hope to put it to good use.

My previous mobiles have been from Alcatel (2003-2005), Motorola (2005 – 2007) and Sony Ericsson (2007 March – 2007 August).

This Nokia N 73 does have some really cool features such as a 3.2 mega pixel camera with Carl Zeiss optics and a 2 GB memory stick plus the Nokia reliability under Indian conditions. Till today, I had a turnaround time on purchase of new mobiles at about 2.5 years average.

Here’s how my old Sony Ericsson looked like:
SONY Ericcson W 810i

Source: http://www.sonyericsson.com/

Written by Naveen Athresh

August 16, 2007 at 7:18 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome to the N-73 club!

    Chaitanya

    August 20, 2007 at 11:10 am

  2. This mobile is turning out to be really cool!

    It has emails (aka a blackberry) from where I can remote manage my teams at work while on the move. It also has Internet capability so any help I need in the form of information is basically just a click away!

    There are some cute Sudoku games I play sometimes.

    Of course, in addition, its got two sleek cameras (one of them of course is of Carl Zeiss optics) and a 3.2 mega pixel cam (enough to get decent shots of an important scenery) that also supports video for upto 1 hour of playback.

    In all, given the feedback I received about a Blackberry being battery hungry, this is a much better deal with focus also on good music/FM Radio!

    A cute package overall that beats my Sony Ericsson to the post.

    Also, one complaint I have is that of the firmware. I think the mic sometimes ceases to function and I need to restart the phone – I have been to the Internet that says this is a common problem on most N-series. I am a little circumspect about upgrading the mobile firmware as a small glitch there would screw up the piece altogether – its not worth the risk!

    Naveen

    Naveen

    September 14, 2007 at 1:04 pm

  3. Interesting article, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

    How to unlock a phone

    March 16, 2009 at 3:57 am


Leave a Reply

