Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Blogging guidelines – my two cents

with 7 comments

What are the important factors one needs to consider before one begins to blog:

1. First, get over this obsession of Google adsense. 99/100 bloggers I meet first think of making a quick buck on adsense rather than focus on quality of their blogs and its relevance towards the topic(s) chosen! This is really very disturbing statistics.

About Google adsense, it is terrific and a great way to monetize your blog but you should be a pro in blogging to know how it works. It really is self explanatory. Google adsense makes sense for only those blogs which generate sizable revenues for their readers. I have seen even the writer of a blog that has less than 100 pageviews in a month proudly put up the Google adsense hoping to make some quick money. Mate – I will dissapoint you coz it will make you nothing. It is not easy and there is no easy path to achieving this. It takes time, it takes patience and obviously, it takes a lot of unique well written posts to generate audience and improve the hits/pageviews to your blogsite and thereby generate more clicks per Google adsense programs put up. It does NOT work the other way round.

2. Take focus off the monetary part of putting up a blog and focus on the content. Content is king. Readers are kings. This is the one and the only approach one can have when it comes to making a blog successful.

3. If you look at my blog, I have, as a policy, not bothered about putting up any sort of a monetary mechanism or Google adsense etc. since the objective of this blog is different and moreover, the numbers are frankly nothing to write home about. There are blogs out there that generate over a million (yes, 1 million+) pageviews a month and this one hardly generates a few thousands (I will be lucky if it goes to 5 figures a month as I speak). Be realistic about your expectations from your blog and how well it will do. Don’t kid yourself. Not everyone is a Guy Kawasaki though you can try to follow the best practices and standard operating procedures of good focused blogging to improve your audience.

4. Be kind and considerate to fellow readers. It is common practice to infringe on other’s copyrights etc. when you blog. This is illegal. You should always make sure you respect other’s IP (Intellectual property) else you could easily get into a lot of trouble. Always provide the source of where you acquired the content. Its critical.

5. Respond to comments from readers. They are what generate your target audience. Without them, you are history – so respect that fact.

6. Post unique posts and try to keep topics focused on one sector or other at most times. Don’t hit at all aspects – I am guilty of doing this myself many times but try to correct myself so accept constructive criticism as well. It will take you places.

7. Blog passionately about the topics chosen but blog by being yourself. Don’t pretend coz it will get noticed. Pay attention to content grammar and content correctness, facts, and get them right. Don’t botch up on this basic principle else you will soon find yourself with no readers.

8. Segregate personal and professional blog posts clearly. Don’t mix and match the two unless you are able to strike a chord between the post and its relevance to your topic chosen for the blog post. My experience with blogging goes back to 2004 and I have been blogging for over 4+ years now. The difference is earlier, I would blog for myself (personal blog) and for the last 2 years, I blog because its my passion. I am passionate about writing on topics that interest me and hopefully,  interest my readers!

Last but definitely not the least, try to keep a simple unobtrusive uncluttered interface for your readers. Focus only on relevant information to be shown to your users. Allow room for RSS feeds and other feeds that help people access your blog content better. Make it uncomplicated to navigate. Don’t put flashy stuff that will divert attention off the main focus of attraction – your content!

Successful blogging!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Naveen,
    Can’t agree more with you on points 1 and 2!

    I just hit upon this post “http://www.problogger.net/archives/2008/01/30/13-questions-to-ask-before-publishing-a-post-on-your-blog/”.. You my want to have look at it..

    Kishan

    February 5, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  2. Thanks Kishan! I went through the post and found it very relevant indeed!

    Great to have you here and I am a regular follower of your blogs. I could’nt stop laughing on the innocence of your friend’s late night tea party! 🙂 Poor thing – his family must have been petrified and our pal was busy sipping tea at Woody’s! 🙂 Do convey my Hi to him – brave guy – you should ask him to repeat that feat after he gets married! 🙂

    In good humour! Keep visiting back!

    Cheers,
    Naveen

    Naveen

    February 5, 2008 at 9:40 pm

  3. hehe! That guy is crazy!

    Anyways.. Keep visiting….I don’t restrcit mine to a particular topic!!! 😀
    totally opposite of how a “good” blog should be!!!

    Kishan

    February 6, 2008 at 8:36 pm

  4. That’s ok. I believe yours is a mix-n-match of personal and professional life. So, its not exactly a cookie cutter mechanism to fall within the ambit of only the ‘good’ blogs. Don’t worry – I go astray on my content as well many times though this one is supposedly a pure professional blog based on my earlier handpicked group formed way back in 2000 – http://www.groups.yahoo.com/group/Eco_Fin

    So, the first thing is for me to practice what I just preached!

    Worse still – I put up reviews on this one at times to sweeten the blog purpose else the entire topic of Economics and Finance can get so boring to people that they will simply stop visiting this blog! 🙂

    Cheers,
    Naveen

    Naveen

    February 7, 2008 at 8:24 am

  5. Hey Naveen, good to see you in the Blogosphere. I knew your literally skills, so it is natural that one day you will end up blogging. Good going dude, great to see you after a long time.

    Anywayz, I don’t think you need to monitize your site, coz you are a rich kid 🙂 but, as an alternate income source at these times, it does make sense. I clock half a million page views for my sites and it does make a lil sense.

    Cheers,
    Prem

    Prem

    March 17, 2009 at 2:28 pm

  6. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    sandrar

    September 10, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  7. Sign: umsun Hello!!! rcuwwymhyw and 1936ssgfhphzye and 7307Great Blog!

    megan fox

    September 11, 2009 at 9:13 pm


Leave a Reply

