Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

One year PG Diploma in Intellectual Property Rights Law – NLSIU

with 24 comments

Before I begin this post, this is my mantra since the last few years when I have been exposed to this: I have a fondness for IP creation or Intellectual Property creation and this blog probably stands testimony to that fact! Which better place than to study IPR law from India’s topmost institute – National law school of India University (NLSIU).

I have written about this earlier too: https://ecofin.wordpress.com/2007/05/17/captive-product-units/

http://www.nls.ac.in/

I have been in the IT products industry for almost 7+ years now. I have seen patent issues, copyright issues, trademark issues/cases (during my EMIB and otherwise) and these three are broadly classified under the common head “IP” or “Intellectual Property”.

I had blogged on this topic earlier as well – https://ecofin.wordpress.com/2006/11/13/wto-the-world-trade-organization/

We had studied about the TRIPS agreement in detail during my Executive Masters in International business course at the prestigious Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, New Delhi and I was most fascinated by this topic then as well! Think about this: RIM (Research in motion), the maker of the popular brand of email push phones or the “BlackBerry” had fought bitterly over a patent dispute some years back and had to pay almost $612.5 million in a patent settlement case. That is the power of IP.

There was one more case of Satyam versus UPaid- http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWCA/Civ/2008/487.html in recent times which is still being fought over in the courts and was in the news recently.

People speak always of other investment vehicles which are ambigious to them such as Real Estate, or Stock Markets or the Bond markets but when they have intelligence and intellectual prowess, they should try to harness the power of “IP”!

It was therefore a no brainer for me when I heard of this course being conducted by the prestigious institution – The National law school of India University” situated in Nagarbhavi in Bangalore. I have driven through this institute many times before as that part of Bangalore city is covered by lush green forests etc. and this school is situated in that scenic area!

I had to get a demand draft from my bank, and then had to get my passport size, stamp size photos printed and then ran around for a gazetted officer – I found one at a Government office.

Then, went to the post office and sent it to NLSIU by speed post – at least hopefully, completing my application process.

I am told this course is quite rigorous and they have contact sessions only for Bangalore residents which is a big plus for me given that I live here.

Lets see if the admission goes through etc. but I have thrust my first foot forward into studying law as it always enchanted me to study this rather intriguing subject and see the other side of it – I have dealt with so many legal scrutinies of documents in last few years (both at workplace and on the personal front) and therefore it will be very interesting!

I am doing this solely to satiate my voracious appetite for doing something different and studying something I can apply again – like my EMIB. Lets see how I make use of this – I first have to pass the rigours of this course, but before that, I must get admission to this course!

Will keep sending regular updates on this.

After all, I am a Libran and the scales of justice come naturally to my character and assessment characteristics – in taking an impartial viewpoint of any situation!

Update #1: I got the following confirmation that my application has been delivered to NLSIU from India Post.

Source: India Post – http://www.indiapost.gov.in

Update#2: I called NLSIU campus today – 29th May 2008 – and they confirmed my application has been received/accepted and nothing more is required for enrolment. They confirmed that classes would started in July/August 2008. So, I am on my way to study IPR law from India’s #1 coaching institution for law!

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Naveen,

    Congratulations on your admission to the IPR course at NLS…

    I am a patent analyst working for an international information solutions providing company and i am very intersted in this course… I have a couple of questions for you…

    1. I found that the deadline for the application/admission has extended till Sep. 30th… but you say that your classes have started on August? Can you please clarify?

    2. I have been analysing the patents (i.e the finished products) but have never been on the other side (making/ applying for the patent). Can you please give me an idea about the opportunities people like me ( who have no background in law) will have after completing this course??

    Thanks a lot…

    SAthish

    Sathish

    September 17, 2008 at 10:13 pm

  2. Hi Satish,

    Thank you for writing in.

    Here are my responses to your questions:

    1. I found that the deadline for the application/admission has extended till Sep. 30th… but you say that your classes have started on August? Can you please clarify?

    I guess, the one with extended deadline was end of August (31st). Are you sure September admssions are being accepted? If they are are, good for you! I think you would have only missed only 2 classes so far so you can catch up. We have completed 2 proper classroom sessions of entire day length duration thus far.

    2. I have been analysing the patents (i.e the finished products) but have never been on the other side (making/ applying for the patent). Can you please give me an idea about the opportunities people like me ( who have no background in law) will have after completing this course??

    Oh plenty. You are in a sweet spot because you can utilize your patent analysis knowledge with the intricacies of how the legal system around it works as also the tech side of things. I believe it is mandatory – you should see their classroom sessions where the technical stuff around patent applications is equally critical to law.

    Hope this helps!

    Cheers,
    Naveen

    Naveen

    September 17, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  3. Hi Naveen,

    Thanks a lot for the reply… I never thought you would reply so soon…

    I found the deadline extension from the NLS website. I have popped up a mail to the registrar and the admissions office for PGDIPR… i am thinking of calling them tomorrow as well…

    One more question… Do you have an idea on the no. of people they take every year for this program, As even if the deadline is extended, its kinda late and i am worried about the non-refundable application/admission fee that is asked to be sent with the app.?

    And how were the classes you have attended so far?

    Thanks a lot…

    Sathish

    Sathish

    September 18, 2008 at 8:44 pm

  4. Hi Sathish,

    I do not think they have restrictions on # of people every year.

    The classes were truly enthralling. Very informative. They have their best faculty coaching us.

    Looking forward to meeting you at Bangalore the next class in the BA LLB classroom!

    Good luck for your admissions.

    Regards,
    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    September 19, 2008 at 11:39 am

  5. My name is deepa.s I am interested in doing the PG diploma in IPR. I have done MPHIL in chemistry an aspiring to do PhD. Can you help me in this regard.

    deepa.s

    September 19, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  6. Hi Deepa,

    First of all, you need to move fast if you need to apply to NLSIU for the IPR course. The d-day might alredy be up. There was another person who wrote to me (you can check the comments section) who said they are still accepting late admissions.

    Second, assuming you get admission, congratulations. You are in the right place and you will definitely have the best of faculty coaching you every month.

    I am positive it will help us perceive IP with the law background upon course completion.

    Given your background in Chemistry, its a bonus. There is a mixed culture at our class and its filled to the brim.

    Hope you can get admission at NLSIU this year.

    Cheers,
    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    September 19, 2008 at 11:35 pm

  7. could you please let me know the salary scales people are getting after completion of the coure, probably ypur seniore, very curious abt it.

    thanks in advance…..

    karthik

    November 17, 2008 at 6:32 pm

  8. My name is Megha. I am interested in doing the PG diploma in IPR. I have done LL.B and appered LL.M (Ist Part) through pune university. presently i am working in Pharma Industry as a legal and admin officer. can i attend this course with correspondence, how can i download the forms ?Can you help me in this regard.

    Megha

    January 8, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    • Hi megha,
      As you are already working with the pharma industry, it would be a great help for me if you answer few of my queries. In a company how many people are there in the IP department.
      Do all companies have this department?
      Which companies hire IP people?
      Which are the post available in companies?
      What is the salary package for IP?

      Please reply

      Kavita

      October 26, 2010 at 8:59 am

  9. Sir/Madam….
    I m a BBA+LLB (Hons.) 4th year student can i join a course called.. deploma in IPR from NLSIU Bangalore (Distance Learning)

    Manish Sharma

    July 24, 2009 at 11:48 pm

  10. I m Mukul, I m interested in doing the PG diploma in IPR. I hav dn B.Pharm just, so I m fresher & I hav no wrk exprnce of mrket or industry. Pls tell me wht the scope after D. in IPR from NLSIU.

    Mukul

    August 30, 2009 at 12:29 am

  11. I am doing M.Sc(Horticulture)PHT in UAS, Bangalore i want to information about IPR PG Diplomo course information and fee structure in bangalore institute
    Thank u

    SELVAKUMAR R

    September 25, 2009 at 11:09 am

  12. hi,i am intersted for distance education programme in IPR. Please suggest me some good institutions.

    aniruddh

    February 5, 2010 at 11:49 am

  13. hi naveen,

    i would like to know if there is a masters course in IPR rather than a PG Diploma course offered by any university?

    anu

    March 15, 2010 at 10:13 am

  14. Hi Naveen,

    Im a software engineer working in an IT firm here in bangalore. I recently came 2 know about this IPR course in NLSIU, through one of my friends. IPR seems to be a very interesting field….but what I actually want to know what is the scope of IPR in software industry.

    Hoping to get some feedback from you.

    Thanks,
    Saurav

    Saurav

    May 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm

  15. Hi Saurav,

    Thank you for writing in.

    IPR is a very niche field and more so in IT so to answer your question, there is scope but it is strictly limited; in India.

    This is because we have very little IP being created here in India at the moment compared to the developed nations; or even China, for that matter.

    Actually, there are IPR cells in all leading IT companies but then if you are looking at this to magically boomerang you into the IT company’s IP cell, think again. It does not work that way. It’s not a magic wand and it takes a LOT of perseverance and hard work. Legal field is not easy and extremely taxing; given this is a part-time course.

    So, basically, you need to take the pros and cons and look at the cost-benefits of this course in your application of it. I have used it in my day-day work many times in last 2 years so I have already realized value in the course but it’s more on a case-by-case basis. It’s not a cookie cutter mechanism that works for all.

    My suggestion is to look at it closely to see if you really need it and can make use of it. Don’t do it because of the fancy of the IPR name – it’s a lot more than that!

    I am qualified to comment on this because I work very closely in IPR and have never really left my edge over it (even my project report in my PGDIPRL was on Software Patent Trends in USA and UK).

    Side note: BTW, this project work is no longer part of your syllabus in PGDIPRL at NLS – they removed it and the assignments so it’s just 100-mark papers 1 – 4 for us now.

    Hope this helps!

    Feel free to write in and I will respond more.

    Sincerely,
    Naveen Athresh

    Naveen Athresh

    May 2, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  16. Dear sir,
    I have 6 years experience as an Advocate in trial courts and subordinate courts. After that i have 13 years marketing experience in pharmaceuticals .I am 46 years young.I am interested to do PG diploma in IPR privately.Pl advise me can it be possible to get any placements after doing this course.

    Thanks and Regards
    E.Venkateswara Reddy,Hyderabad M-09866836554

    E.Venkateswara Reddy

    May 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  17. Dear Mr. E Venkateshwara Reddy,

    First of all, I am not at all competent to comment on your query specific to ‘after placement scenario’.

    For that, we will have to have an expert in IP law comment and I am far from that as of now. I am still a learner so I am not of much help there. My sincere apologies for that. You are so experienced that I will only be doing dis-service if I try to comment anything there.

    Secondly, what I can do is share some of my thoughts on the general placement scenario which is not great; post this course as one needs a combination of the right skills and a lot of good luck!

    There is a reason for this: IP law is still very nascent in India as I have said many times on this forum. It is gaining traction but it takes a lot of skill and very aggressive marketing of one’s skills to get a job here. The pay is not great to begin with as many would have seen (for freshers in this field) so you have to analyze your personal cost-benefit scenario.

    The businesses that do operate in this IPR space have far lesser business opportunities when compared to their USA/European counterparts since there is much lesser IP being created here in India. MNC’s have their own IP cells which are small units in the larger enterprise catering to the specific needs of the enterprise IP.

    For some candidates looking to build a career out of IPR law in India, it might just not be worth it; if they are already established in India in some other field.

    For some others, IP law is a passion which they will ultimately pursue no matter what or where they are. It’s just that they may not have a defined timeline for this transition.

    There is really no cookie cutter mechanism for this choice. It is left to the individual; ultimately.

    The last word: Salaries do grow as one gains experience as I have seen it so if your only motivation is placements or salary, please don’t do it as you might be disappointed with the outcome. If you are passionate about it, GO FOR IT!

    Hope this helps!

    Regards,
    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    May 16, 2010 at 8:26 am

  18. Hi Naveen,
    I did my PhD in in applied biochemistry and thinking of pursuing 1 yr diploma in IPR.Since you have already completed this course I would like to ask few things:
    1. After PhD does IPR diploma help to give a boost to the career and what is the prospect of this course?
    2. Doing a course through distance education: is it greatly accepted in the job market for the freshers like me?
    Thanks,
    Debannita

    Debannita

    May 25, 2010 at 6:18 pm

  19. sir i m doing m.pharma in p ceutics, is this ipr course is benificial for me .i also want to know when form is available and wt is its fee structure

    yeshpal singh

    July 20, 2010 at 7:23 pm

  20. sir,i completed B.pharmacy in 2010.Am intersted to join in pg diploma in ipr distance learning in NLSIU.Kindly inform me the admission procedure and last date of admission and also fees structure

    srinija

    October 2, 2010 at 11:08 am

  21. Hi Naveen,

    I have just completed B.pharmacy.I am planning to do my masters in IPR from the US or any other foreign country which has a wide scope in it.Could you please throw some light on the courses available abroad??..or the country from where i should pursue IPR or atleast how i should go about it??..and also the fee structure abroad??…

    Pranav

    October 8, 2010 at 11:02 pm

  22. Hi Navin,

    This is Kavita, Completed by graduation in Bsc Biotech.
    I wanted to pursue my higher studies.
    I want to know about the career prospect of IPR in India.
    After doing one year post graduate diploma in IPR what will be the job profile and which companies do hire?
    What is the eligibility criteria for the one year post graduate diploma programme?
    When it is going to start?
    Please reply.

    Kavita

    October 26, 2010 at 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

