Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Got my Blackberry and MacBook insured; finally!

with 3 comments

After my iPhone fiasco, I had no interest in taking chances with my precious devices I carry with me 24*7 – literally. I therefore chose a prominent Indian Government insurance provider to insure both for a reasonable amount that covers them against most damages. I did not risk insuring them with some private service provider as first of all, they don’t have a policy of insuring electronic mobile devices such as above and even if they did, I don’t have the confidence the companies would remain in business – a highly pessimistic viewpoint but in some matters, the very fact that I got insurance done shows I am pessimistic!

Written by Naveen Athresh

January 22, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Posted in Gadgets

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What is the use of insuring Blackberry? Is it useful?

    Mariuw

    April 11, 2009 at 4:55 am

  2. Hi,

    I recently bought a blackberry.. i want to insure it too.. can u please tell from which company in India did u get your blackberry device and how much did it cost. Any contact details will be appreciated . thanks.

    Martin

    June 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

  3. Martin,

    I bought my BlackBerry from AirTel, Divyashree Chambers, Bannerghatta road, Bangalore.

    The cost of this device was about Rs. 36K. To insure such devices, insurance co’s typically don’t let you do it directly as risk is high for mobile devices and laptops so they club it with other policies (check with your insurance co.)

    You can contact AirTel Divyashree Chambers directly (Google has their contact #’s) but they offer limited telephone support for pre-sales inquiries, you are better off visiting them to lookup their product portfolio.

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    June 30, 2009 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

