Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Passport renewal / very efficient service of Indian passport offices/postal service

with 11 comments

Source: Bangalore passport office (http://rpobangalore.gov.in/)

Source: Bangalore passport office (http://rpobangalore.gov.in/)

I am not deviating from my rule of ‘uniqueness’ of content on this blog because this post is truly unique in terms of the sheer efficiency of our Indian Government and much criticized institutions so I owe this good piece to them!

To a lot of those who got their passports during their final year in Engineering in the late 1990’s, this is the time for renewal of their passports.

I had been to the Regional passport office less than a month ago to get my passport renewed. I have to say that this passport office at Koramangala at Bangalore is a lot more conveniently located than the older one in the crowded MG Road where I got my passport a decade ago.

Re: the Passport renewal documents, yes, it is quite exhaustive but follow the guidelines on their website at http://rpobangalore.gov.in/ and you will have all your documents in order. They have an organized system (I applied through their afternoon online registration for public (now defunct as they claim there are large # of cancellations) but viewed from our standpoint, it is better for us since the queue moves faster. Of course, there is no ‘queue’ as such. The passport office is a big sprawling campus (parking fees for vehicles is extremely high so think carefully) and be ready to spend at least 4-hours there since at most times the morning queue spills over to the afternoon as well. The passport officials are all very courteous despite the fact that they deal with all kinds of people every day. The waiting hall has good seats, a TV playing and LOTS of people but the plus is you can sit in an air conditioned hall while you await your turn! The passport office is located in a spacious area and is quite big even by International standards and well maintained/organized.

One caveat: You just have to make sure you have all your documents in order and originals for verification to make the Passport office work easier. If you don’t keep your documents in order and yell at the people there, it won’t help your cause. You have to do your due diligence right before expecting them to help you out. Also, they deal with large crowds daily – I have seen this myself. Yet, if you look at their efficiency (I got my passport delivered at my doorstep in 22 days flat even though there was an address change which calls for other mandatory passport office procedures!), I salute them!

Of course, the speed of delivery of the passport is also amazing with India Post! I was expecting my BlackBerry cover to get shipped by USPS during Christmas and New year and they took an inordinate amount of time so India Post delivering my passport within 1 day of dispatch is worth a salute with their Speed Post service and that too on a 1st May holiday morning! We always crib about our Indian Government agencies but how about this for a breath of fresh air with this efficiency! I think even some private sector companies cannot match this (I will desist from taking names here because the post is supposed to be neutral)!

The efficiency of the Indian passport office and India Post has amazed me and these two institutions have really earned my trust!

Side note: I think if you look at the geographic reach of our Indian Postal service (something I have blogged in past), it  is amazing service delivered to your doorstep! I have also blogged about the USPS before so they are not great either when you compare them with India Post.

https://ecofin.wordpress.com/2007/08/23/deutsche-post-to-tie-up-with-india-post/
https://ecofin.wordpress.com/2007/06/11/india-post-the-road-to-recovery-2/

 

Source: India Post (http://www.indiapost.gov.in/)
Source: India Post (http://www.indiapost.gov.in/)
Written by Naveen Athresh

May 1, 2009 at 11:43 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing this info. I am about to apply for re-issue of my passport and was looking for info on how the whole process is carried-out at RPO Bangalore. It was quite a relief to know that its much better organized compared to the MG Road one.

    One correction that you might want to make; Re-issue and Renewal or different categories. You may be referring to Re-issue of passport and not the Renewal.

    Thanks.
    Anuraag.

    Anuraag

    May 9, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  2. Dear Sir,

    I, Aravind Teki have Indian Passport issued on 06/08/1998 at Bangalore Passport Office, Date of Expiry 05/08/2018. The Passport details are clumsy handwritten.
    Can I have the electronically written Re-issue of the Passport? If yes how to go ahead, is there any diffrent application form? Please also let me how much the Re-issue of the Passport will cost?

    Regards
    Aravind Teki
    Teki Cottage, 11 Little Acres
    Anjanapura Post
    Bangalore 560062
    Mobile: 99452 64321

    Aravind Teki

    August 24, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  3. dear sir
    i have gone for the hand written booklet to get a new book let,
    they informed for filling miscellaneous application and charged of Rs,1000/-
    and my existing passport booklet which is having visa, they stamped of rejected
    and asked to wait for 15 days for deliver to my home but i requested for earlier by hand i can carry by which delay of postage is minimised. but of no respond of my request

    mahamood ali

    August 27, 2009 at 2:59 pm

  4. Dea Sir,

    I am planning a trip to the United States of America sometime in the year 2010. My passport expires in July 2010. My question – if I plan to leave in May and plan to stay for 6 months, when should I apply for re-issuing of pass port? I need to go for my visa too. Is it possible for me to apply now for re-issuing of passport and later apply for visa in December with the re-issued passport?

    Kalpana

    Kalpana Vishwanath

    October 11, 2009 at 8:18 am

  5. dear sir,
    i want to apply re-issue of my near expiry passport..but for online registration they are asking for intenet reg no.. whats it? kindly let me know pls

    dr vijay

    October 26, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  6. That’s awesome. I’m so glad you started blogging and that I can call you my friend. Keep posting and I’ll keep reading.

    Get Passports

    December 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm

  7. Dear sir,

    I want to renewal my passport.

    My Passport will be expired on Feb 2010.

    Please, advice me to renewal the passport.

    What shall i do?.

    Thanks and Regards,
    R.Balasubramaniyam

    R.BALASUBRAMANIYAM

    December 30, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  8. Me and my wife viz. Seetharamaiah Indira’s Passports were sent to you through Police Commissioner’s Office, Mysore, three weeks back. What is the position and when we will get the renewed passports. Thanks

  9. For those looking to get passports now, Bangalore has it’s Passport service kendras (PSK) at various locations. The main Passport office at Koramangala no longer accepts forms and you have to visit these location specific PSK’s.

    This is a mega project managed by TCS and my parents will be applying via this in some days time. Let’s see how it works! There was a lot of chaos and a scramble to just book an appointment last week but then let’s see how efficient the regular and/or Tatkal system really is!

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    July 3, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  10. Hi, my passport going expair on 2015. But my passport`s 1st page lamination going pill up. So please help me. I m staying in South Africa thank u

    Baljit singh

    August 8, 2010 at 1:48 pm

  11. The passport office at mangalore collects Rs:1500 extra in the name of damage to old passport when applied for renewal.
    My old passport actually not damaged all pages & prints & writing on it are in good condition.It was wet due to heavy rain on the day of application. As such they are going to issue a new passport as renewal to old one charging Rs: 1000 and hence charging another Rs:1500 is not appropriate. Can we copmaplain on this & get the extra payment refunded? My Mob: 9448309061

    jayarama

    August 15, 2010 at 10:27 am


Leave a Reply

