Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Bought a Sony DVD Player

with 2 comments

Advantage is my Sony Bravia LCD is Full HD (1080p) so this one has a simple HDMI cable that slots into it easily so I can watch full HD. This cable comes free with the DVD player and the cost of this cable itself (bought separately) is about Rs. 2500.
This is the one I picked up yesterday evening from 4th block Jayanagar. You should see Moser Baer DVD’s – they are priced at Rs. 49 and Rs. 99 for genuine DVD’s so I picked up some of them from Calypso, 3rd block, Jayanagar. It’s one of the best music CD/DVD shops in tinsel town!
I am a major advocate of antipiracy (esp. after my IPR course woke me up on it’s negative effects to everyone) and the loss it is causing our music and movie industry so I recommend everyone to use only genuine CD’s/DVD’s.

Sony_DVD_Player_3

Source: http://www.sony.co.in/product/dvp-ns728hp

Advantage is my Sony Bravia LCD is Full HD (1080p) so this one has a simple HDMI cable that slots into it easily so I can watch full HD. This cable comes free with the DVD player and the cost of this cable itself (bought separately) is about Rs. 2500. It also comes with the USB slot in line with it’s competition so that completes the “Must have” for a DVD player as of today:

– HDMI connectivity to play on a Full HD TV

– Plays scratched DVD/CD surfaces due to wear and tear (earlier ones of Sony DVD players were too sensitive and hence could not do this)

– USB slot

– Support for all CD/DVD types (MP3’s, CD tracks, DVD’s etc)

This DVD player set me back by Rs. 4990/- (MOP) as given by Adishwar/Sony showroom.

This particular model is made in Malaysia (same as my Sony Bravia) and imported in March 2009. It is imported by SONY India.

This is the one I picked up yesterday evening from 4th block Jayanagar. Moser Baer film DVD’s – they are priced at Rs. 49 and Rs. 99 for genuine DVD’s so I picked up some of them from Calypso, 3rd block, Jayanagar. It’s one of the best music CD/DVD shops in this part of the town!

I am a major advocate of antipiracy (esp. after my IPR course woke me up on piracy’s negative effects to everyone) and the loss piracy is causing huge losses to our music and movie industry so I recommend everyone to use only genuine CD’s/DVD’s.

Written by Naveen Athresh

June 11, 2009 at 11:01 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Buddy ,

    I was searching for a good DVD player , time to upgrade my Haier DIVX the USB in this sony layer supports upto what size of drive ( i mean only 2-4-8 GB PEN or 120/320/500 GB Pocket HDD)

    A reply would be appreciated . thanks

    Anish

    June 30, 2009 at 12:03 pm

  2. Anish,

    You can playback only SONY USB drives on this player. Size limits have not been mentioned though I assume it has some kind of basic memory to help load USB contents to play them back as they do say “it might take time to play out USB drive contents”.

    The DVD player comes with a separate table that lists the ones you can use (they offer strong caveats on risks associated with using other USB Drives) so you might want to do thorough due diligence.

    To me, this is not an issue as I hardly use USB drives with my DVD player but it’s a ‘good to have’ feature.

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    June 30, 2009 at 2:02 pm


Leave a Reply

