Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

My Blackberry Bold replaced free of cost

with 4 comments

About a fortnight ago, I had show stopper issues with my Bold which suddenly could not take in charge. I used to leave it for 2-3 hours on the USB charger with the PC but it just did not charge. It was strange. Thankfully, this time it’s 1-year RIM warranty was put to good use.

Furthermore, the waning of this battery performance was quick over a 3-day period. First, it started discharging quickly (the Bold always has major battery charge problems as documented and confirmed to me by the Airtel showroom chaps later) so I thought it was strange. Later, it just stopped dead.

I immediately hastened and took it to the Airtel Divyashree chambers showroom about 2 weeks ago on my way back from work and gave it for servicing with my long list of complaints. I got a standby Blackberry as RIM has only 1 authorized service center all over India at Bangalore (thankfully!) and they take a minimum of 14 working days to service any complaint. The Airtel Blackberry service center chaps are pretty kind and considerate as they patiently listened to my grouses.

I got a call from their service center on Monday (3 days back) stating that my old Blackberry had serious hardware issues due to which they are replacing it with a brand new device. The new device I received later in the day was made in Mexico (my previous one was made in Hungary).

The new device looks ok from every other respect but for the mass media support not getting enabled. I tried looking up Blackberry forums for this and it looks like it is an issue albeit minor.

The rest of the features on this new device look ok. Even the geotagging of pictures on this one worked (the geotagging feature had NEVER worked on my previous Blackberry).

Let’s hope this one works ok for a long time to come. BTW, I called my insurer and asked him to replace the IMEI # with the one of this new device since my old device was replaced. So, this device has been taken care of.

Written by Naveen Athresh

June 11, 2009 at 11:32 am

Posted in Gadgets

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can you please share the Contact details of RIM autorized centre. Thanks

    Saneen

    June 30, 2009 at 11:45 pm

  2. Saneen,

    There are no contact details of the RIM authorized center provided. You have to go via your service provider (in my case, AirTel, Divyashree chambers – lookup their contact details on Google – it’s there) – they will help you out.

    Naveen

    Naveen Athresh

    July 3, 2009 at 1:55 pm

  3. Naveen,

    You are one of the lucky ones, I have had it up to my ears with Vodafone trying to get a replacement battery for my bold. I have to charge it up to three times a day for it to last me at my usage. I finally gave up and bought it on the blackberry website which was very easy to use and i must say am very happy with. Lets just hope that this battery lasts atleast a day.

    Regards,

    Akshay

    Akshay Mahendran

    July 13, 2009 at 4:00 pm

  4. Hey Naveen,

    Congrats on the new mobile

    I have been searching for RIM authorized service center and my service provider being Airtel said Divyashree tower in bangalore is the only place!!!

    Quick question:

    1) I bought this with bill and warranty from a retail outlet and not from Airtel office so does that mean if i have any problem under warranty i have to go to divyashree to get it rectified or is it meant exclusively for the people who bought it from Airtel office?

    Looking forward for your reply

    Thanks

    Avinash

    Avinash

    January 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm


Leave a Reply

