Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

NLSIU classes/update

leave a comment »

It’s been a long time since I blogged about this endeavor I have undertaken.

I have to say that I found this course more demanding than what I envisaged. I had to postpone taking up my examinations to Jan 2010 due to time constraints I faced in balancing both my studies at NLSIU and my work schedule that has become hectic. I had 4 papers and 1 viva voce that I will take up in January 2010.

I have managed to however wrap up my project work – Software Patent Trends in US and UK. Anyone wanting to get information on this topic can email me and I will look into the specifics as information on this seemingly innocuous subject is extremely hard to garner and over 3 months of effort of about 1 hour a day have gone into this. I submitted it to NLSIU right then on the deadline date without fine on 25th April 2009 with all hard copies et. al. Same with my assignments that I submitted in 1st week of May 2009 well before the due date (all 4 subjects).

My project viva voce was to be held last week at NLSIU campus – I went there but was not confident of giving my viva by Dr. Vivekanandan (http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dr-vivekanandan-v-c/5/b13/7b) – our new chair of PGDIPRL so hence I opted out and decided to take it up when my work pressure eases hopefully in Christmas/New year time later this year.

I have positive news as well.

I will try to look into my quest for Patent agent exams to be held in December 2009 as well in the interim and see what I can do. Also, I will continue attending my regular Sunday classes at NLSIU (for no additional cost) till December 2009 as I am permitted (I got this verified by my course co-oordinator at NLSIU).

So, my quest for seeking knowledge in IPR law from NLSIU is down but not out. It’s proceeding albeit not at the pace I would have liked – however, I have to accept that multi-tasking on studies in attending full time classes every month end Sunday from morning till night and working 5 days a week and traveling 78 kms to work daily two-way is not an easy task and hence I need to balance it well.

I have done it for my EMIB from IIFT (part-time MBA course) way back from 2004 – 2006 with a grueling 7-day a week grind for 1.5 years and have emerged victorious and am therefore confident I have what it takes to replicate this performance.

But, it’s not easy learning law – trust me. It’s way tougher (and more theoretical with cases everywhere) than learning about International business.

Written by Naveen Athresh

June 21, 2009 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

