Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

IIFT EMIB

with one comment

IIFT EMIB 2004 - 2006 (Source: http://www.iift.edu)

IIFT EMIB 2004 - 2006 (Source: http://www.iift.edu)

It’s been exactly five long years since I joined for my EMIB (Executive Masters in International business) from the prestigious Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT), New Delhi! I joined it on 9th August 2004. Time flies! But can say for sure that this degree has been my best investment made on education till date. With zero opportunity cost (it was held only on weekends – non stop for one and a half years) and the schedule was honestly grueling with no respite and kept us busy on weekdays with assignments, quizzes every weekend, mid-term exams, classes and of course, the end terms.

The value I took out of this degree cannot be monetized easily but if you ask me for a number, I would put it at least in high double digits (that is I easily realized high double digit returns (over the last 5 years alone) of the time, effort and the money I put into it (<ZZ>X times, of course this covers both the tangible/intangible benefits). Not many MBA full-time (let alone part-time) courses can boast of this kind of a return. My Bachelors of Engineering was similar. I invested X for the 4-years of my engineering but my first job offer at TCS in my 1998 campus recruitment offered me gave me a similar double digit returns (<ZZ>X times the cost I had invested on my BE degree for 4 years) in the first year alone! Both of these were also zero debt investments. So, the return on my intellectual capital invested was very high!

While regular MBA’s from good B-schools and BTech degrees from regular Engineering degrees have earned their place in their respective halls of fame, my point is more about the intelligence/common sense we adopt in trying to choose the one that best fits our needs at that time and by this I mean all the myriad aspects (Financial constraints, Economic constraints, social constraints, demographic constraints, adaptability constraints, geographic constraints etc.)

In my case, I believe I did the right thing both the times and both times, I have my parents to thank for this and it was their guidance that helped me in the selection of both of these degrees. So, here’s a thank you to them when I just looked back in time to see the benefits of gargantuan proportions that I gained out of choosing these courses.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reading your take on EMIB made me feel very proud of you and of course the programme which has benefitted the executives a great deal. We have also started a 4 month Certificate Programme on Capital & Financial Markets on week-ends with a fee of Rs 50,000. The next batchof this programme will begin in the middle of this month. If you know of anyone who would like to pursue this programme, please do let me know by Monday.

    Regards,
    Dr Bhatia

    Satinder Bhatia

    April 3, 2010 at 7:34 pm


Leave a Reply

