Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Bought my Hercules MTB Thriller Plus bicycle!

with 5 comments

My Hercules MTB Thriller Plus with V-brakes!

My Hercules MTB Thriller Plus with V-brakes!

I went to the erstwhile Raja cycle Mart at KR Market yesterday evening and bought my second MTB in 15 years! My first Hercules MTB – a Black – was bought in 1994 and I absolutely adored it and used it for almost 3 full years – cycling daily. I find myself much more comfortable on a bicycle than in my old Honda City – it’s a feeling of being with nature and supporting the ‘Going Green’ mantra.

One of the negative features of my old Hercules was that the brakes were always making a creaking sound (no matter how I got it tweaked from the roadside mechanic/cycle shop chap) so I went in for this model – the Thriller Plus – and not the regular Thriller – because the Thriller Plus has what is called the V-Brakes and it’s the analogy of Power brakes for bicyles! I tried the two variants within the showroom yesterday and the difference is contrasting and obvious.

Hercules MTB – Thank you for being with me! My cycle means a lot to me – more than any car in the world would because I love cycling!

Price point: The price point of this cycle as quoted by TI cycles and the Raja cycle Mart chap was Rs. 3600 including some accessories such as the lock for the rear wheel, reflectors for the front and wheels etc.

Update#1: (22nd Oct 2009) – I was anyway not looking to splurge a lot of money on the full featured advanced bicycles that are out there on the market that cost upwards of Rs. 40-50K with gears and the entire works – that is for professional bikers who choose to ride with nature and explore the length and breadth of the country’s rich natural surroundings.

I am content with using this for my sundry tasks and is more a city bike and hence decided to offer this clarification for the benefit for my readers. This is not a review post on the bike market nor is it a review post in promoting Hercules series of cycles – it’s a simple post expressing my happiness is buying a cycle I owned 15 years ago as well.

Here is the brief feature/benefit list of my newest acquisition:

(Source: TI cycles India – https://www.ticyclesindia.com/ProductFeatures.asp?pid=143)

Features Benefits
Stylish Diamond Frame Looks & Appeal
Turbodrive Chainwheel Faster & Smoother Ride
Comfortable Saddle For a Comfortable Ride
V-Brakes For Effective Breaking
Sturdy Carrier Carrier for Load carrying
Wheel & Pedal Reflectors For Safety during Night Riding
Written by Naveen Athresh

October 21, 2009 at 10:25 am

Posted in Highways, Sports

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. > I was anyway not looking to splurge a
    > lot of money on the full featured advanced
    > bicycles that are out there on the market
    > that cost upwards of Rs. 40-50K with gears
    > and the entire works – that is for
    > professional bikers who choose to ride
    > with nature and explore the length and
    > breadth of the country’s rich natural
    > surroundings.

    Trust me, you don’t have a clue what is cycling (not to mention you failed to understand what those cycles are for)

    Good SS you have chosen by the way.

    arnuld

    February 15, 2010 at 11:53 am

  2. Hey,

    Are u still using this cycle

    i’m planning to buy one and neither am a professional nor do i have the money to spend 🙂

    i used to have a Hercules MTB during my high school days

    now would like to buy this model

    any more inputs u can give would be very helpful

    chethan

    March 1, 2010 at 8:41 pm

  3. my old cycle is avon. this cycle is very bad.so i decided and a my new cycle hercules mtb. This is very fanstic cycle his breaks is powerful and stop when push the break stop at the time with frictional force.

    rahul kumar

    March 20, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  4. I bought a new Hero Street racer cycle ( F1 series) its costs Rs.3750 in Chennai.
    The handling and control at high speeds are very good. Have some problem in rear braking.

    Joel

    June 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm

  5. hey guys.. i’m intereste in buyin a bicycle for me now.. i need help while makin a right deal… if any one is interested in suggestin me some models with der prices it wld b vry helpful to me.. tnk u.. hv a gr8 day:)

    anay

    July 31, 2010 at 12:50 pm


Leave a Reply

