Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

amazon.com kindle2 International – review from India

leave a comment »

Kindle2 First look

For starters, I am instantly blown away by my kindle2. I am even more blown away by the amazon.com Whispernet service that worked out of the box. I am also instantly blown away by the e-ink (technology developed by MIT and used by all e-book reader manufacturers) display on my kindle2. Best of all, what amazes me is my first book download from the kindle store was effortless and got downloaded in less than 5 minutes (which, given India uses EDGE, and not 3G, is pretty decent).

The device just fits snugly into your hands and has beaten my expectation after going through tons of reviews over the last 1 year on this device!

060

Naveen's kindle2 unboxing!

I downloaded a newspaper with it’s 14-day trial edition (The Washington Post) earlier today and it effortlessly downloaded it while I was commuting to work! The amazon.com Whispernet is always on so I don’t have to worry about lengthy data usage bills on the Internet connections to the kindle store as it’s free! The organization is pretty straightforward and I can easily access what I want though, as reviews suggest, the lack of a folder will make things difficult to organize as the # of books I download from the kindle store increase.

Buying books is a 1-click operation. It’s that simple.

The text-to-speech feature is pretty snazzy and I loved it. The accent is American but decipherable – useful.

My book reading appetite is definitely going to witness a sharp spike and amazon.com kindle store can expect a lot of revenue from my side in coming days. This is just a piece of beauty! It was gifted to me by my sister on my birthday so it’s a gift! How cool can it get?

Of course, I need to review and read up entire books on my kindle2 device before comparing it with the deadtree version but at least on first glance, this device is worth every penny invested and in my case, since this is a gift I received, the returns on this investment of knowledge, can only be infinite!

Written by Naveen Athresh

November 1, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Posted in Gadgets

Leave a Reply

