Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

The Toyota Way

with 2 comments

This was the third book on my kindle2. It downloaded effortlessly on my kindle using Whispernet in less than 4 minutes. Given the EDGE (Enhanced data rates for GSM evolution) we get in India, this is very good.

Toyota_way

The Toyota Way

Source: http://www.amazon.com/The-Toyota-Way/dp/B000SEGIVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257433076&sr=8-1

I was researching excerpts of this book way back in 2006 for my Project Report on General Motors (GM) and Toyota and was enthralled with it since then so it’s after three long years that I have managed to lay my hands on this piece of beauty!

Since we are on the subject of Toyota, I must say that I am quite disappointed that Toyota pulled out of Formula 1 – they were only one of the four engine manufacturers left in F1 – the other three being, FIAT, Mercedes Benz, Renault with the pull out of BMW earlier this season and of Honda last season.

I was watching Channel News Asia (yes, we get this Singapore channel here and it’s one of the best news channels I have seen in a long time giving crystal clear information) today and they said Toyota posted better than expected results today. I also got to see Goh Chok Tong – the Prime Minister of Singapore in 1992 who mooted the idea of India’s first International technology park where I work currently.

CNA is a channel I admire for their no-nonsense news reporting and have been watching this since the last 6+ months now.

Written by Naveen Athresh

November 5, 2009 at 8:35 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi…i am in 2 minds to buy a Kindle. I was wondering whether it works well in Inida. It seems you are in India, and are using Kindle. Is the experience good? I am based in Hyderabad.

    Sandeep

    November 20, 2009 at 9:07 am

  2. Sandeep,

    My experience with the kindle2 has been positive by and large. I am able to download the e-books in about 5-10 minutes depending on the wireless connectivity I have. amazon.com support for the kindle2 is quite good and the overall experience is worth it. Previously, I used to lug very heavy books to work to read it during my commute and obviously, the kindle2 scores a major advantage there! The e-ink is indeed pleasing to the eye. The device fits in the hand and you indeed have a similar experience as you would if you are reading a real deadtree version. One drawback I did find was with the book download which sometimes just fails but it is again due to multiple causes – primary being the strength of the amazon.com Whispernet wireless service in your area. Depending on this, your book download speeds will vary greatly. Some will come within 4-5 minutes, others might take 20-30 minutes – at least, this has been my experience and I have brought this to notice of amazon.com support when they asked me to try switching wireless providers on the settings.

    So, all in all, I would rate my kindle2 experience so far as 80% satisfactory which is pretty good – given this is a product that is really just an American product dumped onto International markets. Remember, India does not even have 3G yet. We use only EDGE which is painfully slow!

    Hope this helps!

    Regards,
    Naveen

    Naveen A

    November 20, 2009 at 9:14 am


Leave a Reply

