Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

My amazon kindle2 just got better!

leave a comment »

amazon.com released a major software update to the kindle2 which I installed on my kindle2 today.
This one will help my kindle2 do the following below but the one I liked most is this:
– Support PDF’s natively without all those hassles of sending emails to @kindle.com etc. – this is a big plus. I can now read all my e-books which are PDF’s as well on my kindle2! So far, this was a feature available only on the kindle DX.

Here are the list of detailed features as detailed on amazon.com and my assessment based on my kindle2’s performance of the same (review):

Kindle (Global Wireless) and Kindle (U.S. Wireless)

* Longer battery life for Kindle (Global Wireless): You can now read for up to 1 week on a single charge with wireless on. Turn wireless off and read for up to 2 weeks. – Yet to see but battery life has been decent anyway unlike my iPhone which used to drain every single day.
* Built-in PDF reader: Your Kindle can now display PDF documents without losing the formatting of the original file. Send PDF documents directly to your Kindle (via your @Kindle address) or drag and drop PDF files from your computer to your Kindle (when connected via USB). Learn more. – This rocks!

* Manual screen rotation: The Kindle screen can now manually rotate between portrait and landscape views so you can see the entire width of a web page or magnify the page of a PDF file. The page-turn buttons work the same in either orientation, and the 5-way controller movements are switched to match the orientation. – This rocks as well!
* Option to convert PDF files to Kindle format. If you prefer to have your personal PDF documents converted to the Kindle format (so that they can reflow), type “Convert” in the subject of the e-mail when you submit your personal document to your @kindle.com address. – Did not try this.

I got to know of this update released yesterday via http://blogkindle.com/ but when I verified, amazon had also sent me an email indicating the same.

So, Thank you Blogkindle – you rock!

Written by Naveen Athresh

November 26, 2009 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

