Globonomics!

Consulting|Technology|International business

Silicon valley product group (SVPG)

leave a comment »

Inspired - Marty Cagan

Image courtesy: http://www.amazon.com/Inspired-Create-Products-Customers-Love/dp/0981690408/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1293701512&sr=1-1

http://www.svpg.com

http://svpg.com/inspired-how-to-create-products-customers-love/

A couple of months ago, I got this fantastic opportunity to attend this training and found it extremely value adding. My friend recommended it to me and I jumped at this chance!

I am a products person and have been in this field from the beginning of my career so this is the only language I understand. I am in a job where I have to travel occasionally and work across distributed time zones and multiple cultures/people and it is a very valuable learning experience in building products and productized service offerings for the future!

I would increase the frequency of my blog posts on Product Management in addition to my focus areas/interest namely:

a. Gadgets

b. Automobiles

c. Economics

d. Finance

e. International business (my MBA topic)

f. Intellectual property law (my passion!)

I am also currently reading up the book by the trainer – Marty Cagan – called Inspired – How to create products customers love.

This is a logical and a natural progression to my EMIB skills imbibed since it combines my business skills with my technical skills acquired.

I also got a chance to visit some of the top business schools in the US when I was there. I did not do my MBA there but instead got into IIFT (Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, New Delhi, India) for my EMIB:

1. NYU-Stern – http://www.stern.nyu.edu/

2. University of Wharton – Pennsylvania (UPENN) –http://www.wharton.upenn.edu/

I also got to visit my favorite product companies while in US thanks to my cousin – Apple and Oracle! Two technologies and companies I have worked with for a very long time now (Oracle since over a decade now and Apple 3+ years now!) and it was indeed a privilege for me to see my guru’s companies – the companies that Steve Jobs and Larry Ellison built that are rocking the technology world today with their breakthrough products!

Written by Naveen Athresh

December 18, 2010 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

